Oklahoma Driver’s Ed: Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a set time in which students must complete the course?
Students have 180 days to complete the online course.
I’m over the age of 18. Can I still take the course?
Absolutely. This course is open to people of all ages who are learning to drive. By completing this program, you will have a greater understanding of traffic laws, safety skills and other information that you may otherwise miss in preparation for your driving test.
Does an online driver ed course have fewer hours of classroom or behind-the-wheel training?
No. The SafeMotorist.com online course requires the same amount of required classroom hours (30) and driving hours (55) as traditional courses. Safemotorist.com provides fast and inexpensive courses, however it maintains course quality and a safety-first attitude by adhering to state regulations and laws.
How many hours of night driving are required for behind-the-wheel training?
Ten hours of night driving are required by state regulations.
Do I need to purchase the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual?
No. You can download the PDF online for free through the Oklahoma DPS website.
What happens if I do not pass the final exam on the third try?
If you do not pass the final exam, you have the option to re-register for the course and take it again. The course fee still applies for those retaking the course.
Should I take my certificate of completion with me to the DMV when applying for a driver’s license?
Yes. You must carry a printed copy of your certificate with you to prove completion of an approved driver education program in Oklahoma.
For which type of license is the course considered valid?
This course is intended for those looking to obtain a standard Class D license for cars, vans and small trucks. It is not valid for a Class A, B or C commercial license.
What are the requirements for guardians seeking to be parent instructors?
Guardians participating in parent-taught driver education courses must adhere to certain steps in order to become valid trainers. First and foremost, according to state law, the licensed driver accompanying the student must be at least 21 years old and have a valid Oklahoma driver’s license for at least two years.
The steps below must be completed before training begins.
- Download the Parent Taught Driver’s Education Packet from the DPS.
- Read through the packet and fill out the affidavit on page 9.
- Mail the affidavit to the address on the form.
- Wait for the Oklahoma DPS to approve the affidavit and send a copy to you.
Acceptance of the affidavit implies that the parent or guardian’s license is valid with no suspensions or convictions and that the training vehicle is approved based on safety and equipment requirements.
What is the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program? Does Oklahoma adhere to this program?
Yes, Oklahoma follows the GDL program along with many other states. Oklahoma’s House Bill 1599 restricts teenagers aged 15-18 from driving outside the hours of 5:00am-10:00pm. This bill was passed in hopes of reducing teen driving accidents and citations.
The steps of the GDL program are as follows:
- Learner Permit – Drivers with this license must drive during restricted times with a licensed driver. The driver must be 15 ½ years old and be enrolled in or have completed driver education. Drivers 16 years or older can obtain this license without driver education if they have passed the written driving exam.
- Intermediate License – Drivers with this license are limited to restricted times while driving on their own—except in the case of work, church or school—unless accompanied by a licensed driver. The driver is also limited to one passenger—except in the case of immediate relatives—while driving unaccompanied. This license requires six months of driving with a learner permit, no traffic convictions, fulfillment of behind-the-wheel training requirements and a passed driving skills test.
- Unrestricted License – Drivers with an unrestricted license have no driving restrictions. However, this license requires six months of driving with an intermediate license with no traffic violations. Or, the driver must be at least 18 years old and have passed all driving tests.
Note: All of the above licenses require the driver to pass a vision exam.
Oklahoma DPS: https://www.ok.gov/dps/documents/driver_manual.pdf
Oklahoma DPS: https://www.ok.gov/dps/FAQs/Parent-Taught_Driver_Education_FAQ/
Oklahoma DPS: https://www.ok.gov/dps/Obtain_an_Oklahoma_Driver_License_ID_Card/Applying_for_an_Original_Driver_License_(Under_the_Age_of_18)/Graduated_Driver_License.html