All Ohio-approved driver’s ed online and in-person must amount to a total of 24 hours of classroom time and eight hours of practice driving. Although students may complete the classroom instruction online, the eight hours of practice driving must be completed through a traditional, in-person driving school.
Please note: The eight hours of practice driving required for the learner’s permit are separate from the 50 hours that are later required for the driver’s license.
Our Driver’s Ed Online Course Experience
Whether you have never taken an online course before or have taken online courses with other providers, you may be curious as to what our Ohio Approved Online Driver’s Ed Course experience will entail. Imagine the following:
- Working at your own pace
- Working when you are at your most productive
- Logging on and off as needed
- Interacting with high-quality material
- Having a course trainer within easy reach whenever you need them
- Gaining confidence that builds with each successfully completed unit
- Completing your state requirements with ease
Getting a License in Ohio: The Process
If you are just starting out on the path to obtaining your driver’s license, or if you are the parent of a teen who is at the age to begin getting into the driver’s seat, you may be feeling a little overwhelmed at what lies ahead.
The process of obtaining a driver’s license in Ohio is fairly straightforward. Interested new drivers must do the following:
Phase One: The Learner’s Permit
- Successfully complete driver’s education requirements—American Safety Council makes it easy to complete an Ohio-approved online driver’s ed course from the comfort of your home.
- Obtain your learner’s permit.
Phase Two: The Driver’s License
After holding a learner’s permit for at least six months, you can apply for a driver’s license. The major factor in determining your ability to receive a license is successful completion of the road test. When preparing for this test, remember the following:
- Schedule an appointment—this is required. Without an appointment, you will not be able to take the road test.
- Bring the necessary documents. These include: your permit, proof of completing your fifty driving hours, proof of driver’s education completion, proof of insurance for the vehicle in which you will take the road test and your driver’s license fee.
Please note: These steps apply specifically to first-time teen drivers in Ohio. First time adult drivers over the age of 18 will follow a different process to obtaining a driver’s license.
After passing the road test, which includes both driving and maneuverability portions, you will be granted your driver’s license. Licenses can be picked up from the nearest deputy registrar’s office. Learner’s permits will be handed in at the time the driver’s license is granted. New teen drivers will then be subject to graduated driving laws that will ultimately be lifted when the teen driver turns 18.
At the heart of this process is the need for a solid driver’s education foundation, which is why completing the Ohio Driver Education Course with American Safety Council is an important step on the road to driving freedom, skill and mobility.
How Parents Can Get Involved
As a parent, you may find yourself wanting to help your teen become as successful a driver as possible. This is understandable, as the driver’s education process marks a big transition in your teen’s life. Fortunately, there are many ways you can be supportive during this time.