How to Successfully Complete Michigan BDIC
Once you finish the seven modules, you must take a 20-question final exam on the course material. A score of 80% is considered passing. You have three chances to take the exam and make at least a 80%. If you don’t pass the exam after three attempts, register for the course and go through the material and final exam again. You can take the course as many times as you need to pass during your 60-day eligibility period.
American Safety Council reports your course completion to MDOS automatically. At that point, the MDOS updates your driving record. You can also download a copy of your certificate of completion for your personal records.
Leave yourself enough time in your 60-day eligibility period to complete the 4-hour course and pass the final exam. Remember that you may need to take the exam more than once if you don’t pass. If you don’t complete the course in 60 days, the points stay on your record and visible to insurance companies.
Have questions about your account or the course material? The customer support team from American Safety Council is available around the clock. Reach out to us by phone at 1-800-393-1063, email at email@example.com or live chat by clicking Live Support at the top of your screen.
FAQ: MI Basic Driver Improvement Course
Does the Michigan Driver Responsibility Fee relate to basic driver improvement?
The Driver Responsibility Fee applies to Michigan drivers who violate certain traffic laws or acquire seven or more points on their driving record. It is an additional fee on top of the regular fines. As of February 2018, the state of Michigan has decided to end this program over the next several months. Michigan drivers no longer have to pay an additional fee after October 1, 2018.
In general, traffic tickets eligible for the Driver Responsibility Fee are not eligible for the Michigan BDIC program.
How many times can I take basic driver improvement in Michigan?
During your 60-day eligibility period, you can take the course as many times as you need to pass.
However, you can only use the BDIC to avoid a ticket one time. You cannot repeat the course for a separate ticket.
How much does a Michigan basic driver improvement course cost?
The MDOS requires that sponsors price their course at no more than $100. American Safety Council is committed to offering our courses at affordable prices and meets that requirement.
What happens if I miss the 60-day eligibility period?
If you don’t pass the course within 60 days of receiving your eligibility notice, the points go on your driving record and can be seen by insurance companies.
How long does it take to complete the Michigan BDIC online?
American Safety Council’s online course is four hours of instruction time. You need additional time to take the final exam. You can take however long you need to pass the course, as long as it’s in the 60-day eligibility period.