What Else Should I Know?
Drivers between the ages of 15 and 17 should know that they must hold their Florida learner’s license for at least 12 months without getting a traffic conviction before they are eligible to apply for a Florida Class E driver’s license. The BDI course from the American Safety Council offers a way out to these drivers as they will be on track to get their licenses if they complete the course.
A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates six or more points within a 12-month period will automatically be restricted to driving for “Business Purposes Only” for one year. If any additional points are accumulated, the restriction is extended by 90 days for each additional point received.
Also note that you will still have to pay your fines once you complete traffic school. If you do not know how much you owe, you can confirm this information with the Traffic Division of the clerk of the court in the county where you received your citation.
The BDI program can only be taken once a year, and no more than five times total. Once you do finish the program, you will need to provide the completion certificate to the clerk’s office in the county where you received your citation. Each county has different regulations regarding the process, so make sure to contact your clerk.
If you’re not sure where you have to file your certificate, you can check the county court locations page to find your county clerk’s information. You can also refer to the Florida driver’s handbook.
Florida visitors who are not residents can still take the course if they get a ticket while visiting, and the same process applies. If you have a commercial driver’s license, you cannot take traffic school. Contact your court to check whether or not your type of license is eligible for traffic school.
What Perks Does a BDI Course Offer Me in the Future?
If a driver chooses to take a BDI course which they attend and successfully complete, they will receive a number of benefits that go beyond the improvement of their driving record, including the following:
- No further points can be added to your driver’s license of record if adjudication of guilt is withheld. This option is limited to some drivers as those who have attended a BDI course in the preceding 12 months will not be offered this privilege. Also, make note of the fact that you will not be able to take a BDI course more than five times throughout the course of your life.
- A certain amount of protection from insurance companies will be granted to you as these providers cannot impose an additional premium on your rate. They are also unable to refuse to renew a policy for motor vehicle insurance solely because you committed a non-criminal traffic infraction—there are certain exceptions to this option, such as when you are penalized with a second infraction within 18 months, a third infraction within 36 months or if you exceed the speed limit by more than 15 mph.
How Do Teens Obtain a Florida Driver’s Permit?
To attain a learner’s permit in the Sunshine State, the driver must be at least 15 years old. If they are under the age of 18, they must get a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form to learn. Stepparents may not sign the document unless they have legally adopted the minor child.
The next step is for the driver to complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course and show the certificate of proof. Once they initiate this process, the driver must then pass a vision and hearing test conducted in a service center.
The driver then has to pass a Class E Knowledge Exam that tests them on the state’s traffic laws. The best way to practice for the exam is by looking at a copy of the Official Florida Driver License Handbook.
The exam itself consists of 50 multiple choice questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. The score to pass the exam is 80%, or 40 out of 50 questions. Finally, the learner needs to provide documents to establish proof of identity, proof of social security number, as well as proof of residential address.
How Do Teens Obtain a Florida Driver’s License?
The first requirement to getting a driver’s license in Florida is that you must be at least 16 years old, and you must hold a learner’s license for at least one year or until you reach age 18—whichever comes first.
You will need help from a parent, legal guardian or responsible adult over the age of 21 who is capable of completing the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form for you, which certifies that the driver has 50 hours of driving experience, out of which 10 hours must be at night.
The driver must have no moving violation convictions for one year from the learner’s license date of issuance, or they can have one moving violation as long as an adjudication of guilt was withheld.
You must pass the Class E Driving Skills Test, plus the vehicle used for the driving test must have a number of valid documents such as a registration, a proof of insurance and it should pass a basic vehicle inspection conducted by the driver’s license examiner to make sure it is safe for a driving test.
Documents must be provided to establish the driver’s proof of identity, proof of Social Security number, plus proof of residential address. The Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws permit teen drivers to gain driving experience under lower-risk conditions before they can attain full driving privileges.
The teen must drive during the daylight hours for the first three months after the license is issued, and until 10:00 pm after three months. They must always be accompanied by a licensed driver aged 21 and more.
State of Florida.com: https://www.stateofflorida.com/drivers-handbook.aspx