What to Expect from the Class E Knowledge Exam
A requirement for all individuals seeking to obtain a driver’s license, the Class E Knowledge Exam, can be taken in person or online. In short, exam takers must:
- Complete the 50-question exam either in person or through a third-party provider
- Score a 40/50 (80%)
It is important to note that individuals who take the Class E Knowledge Exam through a third-party administrator may be randomly selected to take a retest without advance warning. In this circumstance, the retest would be administered at no cost to the student. However, if the student fails the retest, they will be required to pay a re-exam fee at the time of the next attempt.
Set Yourself Up for Success
If you do not pass the permit exam the first time, you can take it again. However, there is no need to waste valuable time and money. Instead, you can put your energy into the American Safety Council’s online permit exam prep. This valuable resource is designed to help teen drivers pass the permit exam the first time. It is included in the online bundle deals so you have the greatest chance of succeeding and getting out onto the road faster.
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws for Teens
To ensure that teen drivers are safe on the road, GDL laws allow teen drivers to build their skills and road awareness under low-risk conditions. Over time, teen drivers must abide by fewer restrictions until they are granted full driving privileges. The following summarizes GDL laws associated with each stage of the license acquisition process:
Learner’s permit—Teens may drive only during daylight hours for the first three months after receiving their permit. After three months, the driving curfew extends to 10:00 pm. While holding a learner’s permit, teens must always be accompanied by a responsible adult driver who is at least 21 years of age.
Driver’s license at 16—Teens who receive their driver’s license when they are 16 are forbidden from driving between 11:00 pm and 6:00 am. The only exceptions to this rule are if the teen is driving to work or is accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 years old.
Driver’s license at 17—Teens who receive their driver’s license when they are 17 are forbidden from driving between 1:00 am and 5:00 am. The exceptions to this rule are if the teen is driving to work or is accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 years old.
Sign Up for the DATA Course and Online Permit Exam with American Safety Council
Register for the DATA course and the online permit exam, and take the first step toward driving proficiency. To make these programs even more affordable, the American Safety Council offers bundle deals. Individuals can select the Drug and Alcohol Course with Online Permit Exam or the DATA Course, online permit exam and exam prep. These deals are intended to save you money as you move forward on the road to achieving the freedom that a Florida driver’s license can bring.
First-Time Florida Driver: Frequently Asked Questions
What do I need to get my Florida Learner’s Permit?
If you’re a first-time Florida driver, you’ll need to meet the following requirements in order to get your learner’s permit:
- Must be 15+ years old
- If under 18, must have a signed/notarized parental consent form
- Must have proof of TSLAE course completion
- Must pass vision and hearing test
- Must pass the Class E Knowledge Exam with an 80% or higher
- Must provide documents proving identity, social security number and address
What do I need to get my Florida Driver’s License?
Earning the right to operate a vehicle is no small feat. As a result, driver’s license candidates must meet a series of requirements to proceed at each stage of the process. Although the requirements are generally universal, there are some key difference between requirements for teen and adult first-time drivers.
If you’re a teen who is ready to get your Florida driver’s license, you must meet the following requirements:
- Must be 16+ years old
- Must have held a learner’s permit for 12 months or until the age of 18, whichever comes first
- Must have adult (parent, legal guardian or other responsible party) over 21 years of age complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience form. This certifies that the student driver has completed at least 50 hours of driving experience, including 10 nighttime hours
- Must maintain a clean driving record with no moving violations. However, one moving violation is allowed as long as there was no adjudication
- Must pass the written exam
- Must pass the Class E Driving Skills Test
- Must ensure vehicle used for driving test has valid registration, is insured and passes a basic vehicle inspection by the driver’s license examiner
- Must provide documents proving identity, social security number and address
Adult first-time drivers in Florida do not have to go through the process of acquiring a learner’s permit and abiding by GDL laws. However, the following requirements do apply:
- Have proof of TSLAE course completion
- Pass the written exam
- Pass vision and hearing test
- Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam with an 80%
- Provide documents proving identity, social security number and address
Do adults need a learner’s permit?
In the state of Florida, adults do not need to acquire a learner’s permit or follow GDL laws. Instead, first-time Florida drivers 18 years and older can skip the learner’s permit and proceed straight to the driver’s license process. Adult first-time drivers in Florida will still be required to complete the TSLAE/DATA course, pass the written exam with an 80% and pass a vision and hearing test. When you visit a Florida DMV office, you will also need to bring proof of identity, social security number and address.
What happens after I complete my learner’s permit requirements?
Although you can complete both learner’s permit requirements online, you will need do visit a Florida DMV Office to present proof of Identification, proof of test completion and receive your learner’s permit.
Do I need to take the TSLAE/ DATA Course or permit exam in person?
No. If you are under 18 years old, you can take the TSLAE/DATA course and the permit exam online through a third-party administrator such as the American Safety Council.
Taking the American Safety Council course offers many benefits, which include fitting the program around your school or work schedule, moving at your own pace, and having access to 24/7 support, everywhere you are.
Am I allowed to get a ticket while holding my permit?
Teens who receive a ticket while holding a learner’s permit will not be permitted to progress to a driver’s license for one year from the conviction date. The only exception to this is if adjudication was withheld.
What is the Florida Driver’s Handbook?
The Florida Driver’s Handbook is a useful resource, containing rules and regulations you should know as you begin the process of receiving your driver’s license. If you have not already, you should download a copy of this handbook, so you can easily answer the questions and concerns that may arise behind the wheel.
What will I have to do during the skills test?
Similar to the Class E Knowledge Exam, the Class E Skills Test can be taken at a Florida DMV office or with a third-party administrator. Regardless of where the test is taken, students are expected to safely perform the following maneuvers:
Three-point turn—Turn the testing vehicle around in a 20- 40-foot area.
Crossing—Navigate to the appropriate lane, look both ways and use the necessary signals.
Respect right-of-way—Allow pedestrians to cross, pull over or stop for emergency vehicles, and refrain from entering an intersection if the resulting action will interfere with other traffic.
Straight-in parking—Maneuver the test vehicle so it is located in the center of the space, without the front or back of the vehicle impeding the traffic lane.
Parking on a grade—Possess the skills necessary to park uphill and downhill, with or without a curb.
Quick stop—Understand how to safely and efficiently bring the vehicle to a halt when instructed by the test examiner.
Back up—Be able to reverse for a distance of 50 feet, while looking directly to the rear of the vehicle. Rearview mirrors and rearview camera monitors are not permitted during this exercise.
Respect stop signs—Come to the stop sign in the proper lane and perform a complete stop until it is safe to proceed forward.
Respect traffic signals—Approach the light at an appropriate speed and in the proper lane. Refrain from moving forward until the light is green and any remaining traffic has made it through the intersection.
Signal and turn—While driving in the proper lane, signal the impending turn for at least 100 feet. Hand or mechanical signals are permitted.
Stay in your lane—Remain in the right lane, except when driving on a one-way street. Refrain from changing lanes until this can be done safely.
Pass with care—Ensure the area to the front and back of the testing vehicle is clear before passing.
Maintain safe following distance—Refrain from following other cars too closely. Maintain a minimum four-second following distance.
Maintain proper seated posture—Keep both hands on the steering wheel at all times. Refrain from resting an elbow on the window.
Individuals who demonstrate competency in the above procedures will be granted their driver’s license. Teens who have carried a learner’s permit will turn in their permit when their driver’s license is granted.