Teen learning to drive or taking driving test.

How to Get Your CA Driver Permit Online

Earn a CA Driver’s Permit with American Safety Council

One of the key components of growing up is learning how to drive, a skill we begin teaching our children during their mid-teen years. There are plenty of ways to get a California driver’s permit, but one organization stands above the rest in terms of creating the most conscientious young drivers behind the wheel.

Top-of-the-line Program

American Safety Council® offers one of the most comprehensive driver’s education course in the west. The course is offered to adolescents between the ages of 15 and a half and 17 and a half, who are required by the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to complete an approved driver’s education to get their permits.

With American Safety Council, you can complete the course online, taking you one step closer to attaining your DMV licenses. To get started, you must be between 15 and a half and 18 years of age. You can’t get your license straight away without a driver’s permit if you’re under 18 years old.

American Safety Council’s CA driver permit course is especially strong because it offers detailed information on how to become an elite driver in the state of California. The user interface of the test and the program itself are very easy to understand and easy to use.

The course itself takes a minimum of 25 hours to complete, with the option to use up to 50 hours to complete the course. Completion of the course is followed by a 46-question written exam taken at your local DMV. American Safety Council’s program offers customer support 24 hours a day, seven days a week via telephone or email. You can call 1-800-393-1063 if you have any questions about the course.

Why Take the CA Driver Permit Course with Us?

You can register online using a short registration form and begin the course right away. Once you finish the course, your completion certificate will be processed within five to seven business days using your information in an easy and hassle-free manner.

Another element of American Safety Council’s program that appeals to many is the fact that you can log on and off of your course, saving your progress along the way. The course offers unlimited chances to pass to ensure that you learn how to become the best driver possible and attain your learner’s permit.

The website in which you practice and take the course is certified hacker safe as well, which protects you against malicious data breaches, identity theft, online scams, fraud and more.

Starting the Driver’s Ed Course

The first step in the process is to complete the CA-approved driver’s education program. The driver’s ed course offers three pricing options depending on how in-depth you’d like your education to be:

Permit Prep

For one low cost, you will have access to DMV practice tests, insider tips for testing, educational videos, exam prep documents and more.

Course Only

If you’d like to simply take the DMV-approved driver’s ed course, we’ll give you access to 50 approved DMV prep questions and the official certificate for your provisional permit once you complete the course.

Course and Permit Prep

CA residents can get both of the options above in one package, getting all the necessary tools to prepare for your driver’s ed course to go along with the course itself.

After you complete the driver’s ed course, fill out application form DL 44, which requires a parent or guardian signature. The form completed must be the original one offered by the California DMV as you cannot bring an online one.

To obtain the DL 44 or DL 44C form, you need to call the DMV’s Automated Telephone Service at 1-800-777-0133 and request the agency send a form to your home. You can also make an appointment with your local DMV and pick up the form there. Doing so will also speed up the process, but make sure to bring the required forms.

About the CA Driver Permit Course

The course itself is divided into 15 sections that take roughly 30 hours to complete. Here is a breakdown of what each unit looks like:

1. Driving Is Your Responsibility

This section introduces you to the new responsibilities you will have to assume as a driver in the state of California and in the United States, as well as the impact of driving an automobile in society. You will learn what a driver’s permit will mean to you, what it means to others, the fact that the vehicle you are driving counts as a weapon, the fact that parking is part of the responsibility you assume, the importance of everyday laws, the importance of courtesy to avoid chaos, a brief history of automobiles and more.

2. The Driver

In this course, you will learn about how to responsibly use a motor vehicle to be a good driver by using the steering wheel and all its other functions properly. The second unit is an extension of the first one, offering a more in-depth perspective of the responsibilities of driving, including the fact that you are responsible for knowing what each part of the vehicle means and how you should use each one in the right circumstances.

3. Natural Forces Affecting the Driver

Here you will learn what you need to do when a crash, rain, snow or other unexpected events affect the way you maneuver your car. Driving uphill and downhill are essential skills necessary to succeed in this role, along with parking on an incline, as well as how inertia counteracts with a seatbelt when suddenly stopping, plus the role of kinetic energy on the road.

4. Signs, Signals and Highway Markings

You will learn about the signs, signals and highway markings that offer you information regarding what you can and can’t do once you find yourself face-to-face with each one. This is an essential section where you will learn the difference between a triangle, an octagon, a cross, a diamond, a square, a rectangle, a pennant and much more, which is an essential skill necessary to avoid accidents and to ensure harmony on the roads.

5. California Vehicle Code and Rules of the Road

An important section that teaches you about the laws and procedures necessary to get a provisional permit and a license, what you need to do to register and own a vehicle and more. The booklet that you will study from is one of the most important documents in regards to the laws of the state in the California Driver Handbook. Here, you will also learn what it means to own, operate and sell a vehicle and what the right procedure is for each of these functions.

6. Causes and Costs of Accident

This section will teach you plenty about how accidents happen and how to avoid them. Several different scenarios will be placed in front of you to give you a full-fledged idea of what to do during each set of circumstances, including when you need to yield, slow down or speed up. The chapter will also offer you information on how much accidents cost in terms of injuries, human lives, animal lives, damages to a vehicle and financial costs of being part of an accident.

Teenager learning to drive

7. Differences in Urban and Rural Driving

The title is self-explanatory—you need to abide by different laws and practices when driving in a city versus a rural setting. There is usually more to consider in a city, such as school zones, residential areas and more traffic. The traffic signs you will find yourself face-to-face with in each area is also different as you will have to change speeds more frequently in an urban area, while a rural area will likely have fewer signs on the road, requiring you to be more conscientious of your surroundings.

8. Critical Vehicle Systems and Subsystems

In this chapter, you will learn the more technical information of a vehicle related to the critical elements that ensure your life and your vehicle’s well-being. You will learn about the role of airbags on the road, ensuring that your battery is charged, making sure you have enough fuel, checking your oil, the role of the emergency brake on your vehicle and more.

9. Pedestrian Safety

It is important that you learn how to coexist in the roads with pedestrians, other cars, bicycles, emergency vehicles, animals, trains, school buses and other commuters or tourists who may be traveling in a different form of transportation. Plenty of statistics will be offered to you in this section, including the fact that pedestrian and bicycle accidents are the leading causes of death in the United States for residents of ages eight to 14. The different street signs that refer to pedestrians will also be covered in this section.

10. Effects of Alcohol and Drugs

Those seeking to obtain a California provisional license need to be well informed of the penalties surrounding driving under the influence, as well as the potential harm that could be caused by driving with alcohol or drugs in your system. You will learn the definition of terms such as BAC, which refers to “blood alcohol concentration,” a phrase that helps define how much alcohol you are allowed to have in your system while driving without getting a DUI.

11. Motorcycle Safety

There are some areas of the United States with a large number of motorcycles, and individuals getting a learner’s permit need to understand how vulnerable motorcycle drivers really are. This section also teaches you about the different types of motorcycles based on how many wheels they have and the engine size of each one. You will also need to learn the licenses needed to obtain them, including mopeds, motor-driven cycles, scooters and more.

12. Risk-Taking and Perceptions of Teenagers

Driving under the influence isn’t the only dangerous way of driving, especially when it comes to teenagers, as distracted driving and failing to comply with driving laws can also be dangerous. The perception of teen drivers in some places is negative due to the fact that they could be more susceptible to driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, as well as the fact that they may check their phones quite often when driving.

13. Substance Abuse

The state of California has strict penalties for those who drive under the influence, as well as programs that help addicts to sober up and regain their licenses and driving privileges. Those with a chronic substance abuse issue who get behind the wheel daily is a risky set of circumstances that increase the chances of causing an accident directly or indirectly.

14. Driving Inexperience

We are all new drivers at one point in our lives, so it is essential to understand what some of the common mistakes are for beginners. A number of factors are considered when teaching this unit to drivers who are starting out, including the speed at which they travel since they’re still learning how to maneuver their vehicle, as well as how to steer their wheel when turning. Parking techniques are also highlighted in this section.

15. Road Rage

Another dangerous way of driving is comprised of road rage, in which drivers let emotions get the best of them and results in reckless driving and making poor decisions behind the wheel. While driving under the influence and distracted driving are considered to be the most dangerous forms of driving, road rage can also significantly increase the risk of an accident to the persons involved or an innocent passersby.

What You Need Once You Complete Your Driver’s Ed Course

Once you study the course, you need to bring several documents to the California DMV along with your certificate, including an original or certified copy of one of the following items:

  • US birth certificate
  • US passport or US passport card
  • US military identification cards
  • Certificate of naturalization or citizenship
  • Permanent resident card
  • Temporary resident identification card
  • Canadian passport/birth certificate
  • Permanent resident re-entry permit
  • Employment authorization card

Also bring one of these documents for social security number (SNN) identification:

  • Social security card (cannot be laminated)
  • Medicare card
  • U.S. Armed Forces Identification Cards such as the Active-DD 2, Retired-DD 2, Reserved-DD 2 and Dependent-DD 173
  • Military separation document-DD 214
  • An exception is made for residents who are legally present in the United States but ineligible for an SSN. Nevertheless, you would still have to provide an acceptable legal document with your birth date and legal presence for any DL/ID card application, or provide a valid SSN.

Once you have handed over all these documents and your driver’s ed certificate, you need to provide your true full name, if your name does not match the name provided on your birth date legal presence document. You also have to give a thumbprint, have your picture taken and pay a $33 application fee.

You will then have to pass a vision exam and take a traffic laws and sign test. The test is comprised of 46 questions and you are given three chances to pass with a 38 out of 46 as the lowest possible score. You can always look over your DMV practice tests and insider tips for testing ahead of time if you’re concerned about passing.

Register for Our CA Driver Permit Course Today

Although the course is a requirement for anyone in California between the ages of 15 and a half to 17 and a half, you can access it as early as the age of 14, although you cannot get the learner’s permit until six months after you turn 15. This driver’s ed license will set you on the path toward getting your license next.

The course is directly approved by the California DMV, and it satisfies the requirements needed by the agency in a minimum of 25 hours, excluding breaks. The online course is especially helpful due to the fact that you take the exam at your own pace, and you can take it from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access.

The online option is preferred over taking the course in person. Once you arrive at the DMV after completing our online course, all you need to do is finish the final DMV steps such as the written and vision exams.

Once you finish your online exam, your certificate will be processed on the day you finish. However, it will take up to 10 days to receive the certificate at your home via US first class mail (since it takes five to seven business days to process the certificate through the mail).

Following all of these steps, you can apply for a provisional license once you turn 16 years old, but you won’t have all your driving privileges until you turn 18 years old, at which point any bans placed upon what you can and can’t do as a driver will be lifted.

Sources:

California DMV: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv